Posted by: Smee | July 31, 2008

A busy night

Weird circumstances left us with only 2 tanks for last night’s raiding. It was a Wednesday night, so it was a reset night on European servers. Everything was alive, awaiting us to visit.

We headed to Black Temple.

I do enjoy the Naj’entus fight. It’s one of the first boss fights where Chain heal really, really (and I mean, really) shines. Depending on how your raidleader arranges the groups, then it also can be a fight that shows the power of CoH (Circle of Healing) priests as well, although they really become noticeable later on with Bloodboil.

For those that don’t know, the Naj’entus fight is pretty healing intensive. There’s consistently hard damage on the tanks, on most of the melee, and random burst damage on the raid in the form of frosty bolts, and giant spines. Chain heal can beam about the melee and the tanks pretty much non-stop, such is the damage quantity. To add to that, once per minute a shield burst ‘thing’ happens that will cause everyone in the raid to take over 8k damage. Man you just can’t spam those golden beams of joy fast enough.

Now those of you who have been in Black Temple will know that the first trash pack after Naj’entus can be a little tricky. It involves about a dozen little slimers, that spit out aoe poison, and shift about pretty damn quick. You get them in pairs in the trash leading to Naj’entus, but this pack is huge.

We usually have 4 tanks, and even then we tend to get a few of the blighters coming out of the pack due to healer aggro on the tanks, and then all hell breaks loose as the poisons start firing off every which way. I’ve even seen raid wipes to these blighters.

So I had this idea last night – only 2 tanks, we were destined for a wipe – let me stick my Earth Elemental in the door way, it has a pretty good aoe taunt thing, and is completely immune to nature damage. Give him 30 secs to build aggro, and then you’ll have 90 secs before he despawns to get em down. A couple of misdirects would help even more.

I get the impression the raid thought I was joking, and regardless our normal tanks go in first. To hell with them, I drop my elemental anyway, and he grabs half the blighers. No misdirects though, sadly. The tanks start taking a lot of poison damage, the heals go out, and suddenly two or three are in the main raid, and the chaos ensues. But stoically, loyally and wonderfully, there is my little elemental, stood up front, still with half the pack around him. Bless.

We lost half the raid in the end, but we got them down. I’m determined that next time we let the elemental get ‘initial’ aggro, rather than the tanks, so no healing is needed. And that he gets a couple of misdirects to help. I will see him tank that pack and we aoe them down with no deaths, I WILL!

The trash to Supremus was as boring as usual, although perhaps a little more fun as we had mages/warlocks/hunters tanking the dragons in the air so there was a little more healing to be done. We’re still pretty convinced in the healer channel that it could certainly be duo healed and maybe even solo healed.

Supremus isn’t a great fight for a shammy. There’s far too much movement, so trying to duck volcano’s, fires, staying in range not to get charged if gazed, and standing still to get a heal off is just a pain. Everyone is well spread, so chain heal is all but useless too. Druid’s obviously do well here. NS+Ghostwolf is quite amusing though if you do get gazed. Currently water shield seems to tick off lots and lots during this fight, so keep it spammed and mana won’t be a problem at all. I’ve gone from 50% mana to full between two tanking phases. So don’t be scared to whip off LHW’s on clothies that have got caught in a fire or volcano. You can get the mana back easily enough. Same goes for a cheeky lightning bolt or 20. First time I killed him I got the healing mail haste belt, which is currently my first and only part of a one-day haste set. Looking forward to seeing what 2.05 sec chainheals will be like.

The trash past Supremus gets a bit nasty with just two tanks, so we called the raid early. Against better judgement (with an early start for work the next day) I got involved with an impromptu ZA Bear run group.

ZA Bear runs… I’ll cover them more another time. But they sure are mad. Duo healed with a pally last night, which I have to admit wasn’t a great pairing. We came to the bear boss (second boss by the way we do it, less travel time for the timed event) and with only my Earthshield to keep the tank alive during the silence, we had two swift wipes. Very annoying, as when I’ve been paired with a druid, this boss barely registered in my memory. We were about to give up, but we went for a third go just to get the second chest if we could, typical third time I resist the stun and we heal through without a problem. Get some bonus time, and rush off to down the Dragon hawk for the third chest too.

With only 4 mins left though, sadly its another failed bear run attempt. Give me the druid healer, and that group last night was going all the way. Oh well.

Had a bit of fun on the penultimate boss. The pally disconnected towards the end, so I was solo healing through tanks damage, spiritbolts on the whole raid, and bloody rain of fires. I have never been more oom and never been more glad when a mana pot came off cooldown! Also broke my record, and hit 1750 hps, without even Heroism (didn’t have the mana to use it!). Left me sweatin’ a bit that did.

3 mana potions used in that fight. Potion sickness after one potion! Don’t make me laugh… bitterly.

Leave a Reply

Categories

